Italy's brutal tech-death ensemble HOUR OF PENANCE premieres the first single & opening track "Devotion for Tyranny", from its forthcoming album "Devotion", which is set for release on April 5th via Agonia Records. The single is available in the form of a music video, at this address.

"We chose 'Devotion for Tyranny' as the first single because it's probably the most straightforward and uncompromising song on the album, and it perfectly represents the main themes of the album," HOUR OF PENANCE posits. "This animated video is heavily inspired by the mysterious atmospheres of Soulslike games and the hooded man represents the revolutionary vanguard that overthrows the established order based on wealth and oppression, that has left the Earth a barren and sterile land for a deformed and enslaved humanity to live in. The visual references to the elements of the alchemical process are a metaphor for the transformative power of the human will. It's a dystopic vision of a not-so-distant future and a warning."

The upcoming album - follow-up to 2019's "Misotheism" - comprises long-standing members Giulio Moschini (guitars), Paolo Pieri (vocals & guitars) and Marco Mastrobuono (bass), alongside young blood, Giacomo Torti (drums). It was recorded at Bloom Studio and Kick Studio in Italy, with mixing and mastering handled at famed Hertz Studio (Vader, Decapitated, Behemoth) in Poland. 

"Devotion is our anthem to the futility of war, with no light at the end of the tunnel," the band comments. "The main theme of the album is the misguided devotion which we, the people, give to our leaders, who mercilessly send us to our deaths under the pretense of democracy; while being guided only by imperialist ambitions and greed. The faceless crowd of the artwork stands in worship of these deformed statues of false deities. Musically, the album builds on the 20-year-old, fast-paced trademark style of Hour of Penance, and enhances it with more technicality and catchiness, interspersed with epic landscapes."

HOUR OF PENANCE has been consistent in crafting their sonic identity through a brand of complex, crushing and surgical death metal, which made them stand out as one of the most intense and talented representatives of the genre. Whilst tailored for hyper speeds and untamed brutality, the group doesn't shy away from perceptive social metaphors in their dark imaginary and lyrics. Their energetic live show has led them to Europe, USA, Canada, Australia and Asia, touring with the likes of Cannibal Corpse, The Black Dahlia Murder, Devildriver, Deicide, Nile or Behemoth.

1. Devotion for Tyranny
2. Parasitic Chain of Command
3. Birthright Abolished
4. Retaliate
5. Breathe the Dust of their Dead
6. The Morality of Warfare
7. Severance
8. The Ravenous Heralds
9. A Desert Called Peace
10. Spiralling into Decline

Album formats:
- Jewelcase CD
- Digibook CD
- Black LP
- Cloudy LP
- Gold nugget LP
- Red smoke LP
- Clear splatter LP
- Gold metallic MC
- Smoky tint MC

- T-shirt
- Zipped HSW

Tour dates:
16th -18th May 2024: Nice To Eat You Deathfest, CZ
1st - 2nd June 2024: Grabbenacht Festival, DE

Giulio Moschini - guitars
Paolo Pieri - guitars and vocals
Marco Mastrobuono  - bass
Giacomo Torti - drums

Pre-orders | Facebook | Instagram