Releases: Hour Of Penance - Devotion
Hour Of PenanceArtist: Hour Of Penance
Title: Devotion
Catalog number: ARLP257_V5
Format: 12"LP (clear splatter)
Genre: Death Metal
Origin: Italy
Release date: 2024

Clear LP with black and gold splatter. Limited to 300 copies.

"Devotion" is the ninth studio album from Italy's brutal tech-death masters HOUR OF PENANCE.

"It has been almost five years since Misotheism [last studio album], but we are finally ready to unveil our new opus," comments HOUR OF PENANCE. "Devotion is our anthem to the futility of war, with no light at the end of the tunnel. The main theme of the album is the misguided devotion which we, the people, give to our leaders, who mercilessly send us to our deaths under the pretense of democracy; while being guided only by imperialist ambitions and greed. The faceless crowd of the artwork stands in worship of these deformed statues of false deities. Musically, the album builds on the 20-year-old, fast-paced trademark style of Hour of Penance, and enhances it with more technicality and catchiness, interspersed with epic landscapes."

HOUR OF PENANCE is a blackened technical & brutal death metal outfit formed in 1999, widely considered as one of the most intense and talented representatives of the genre to emerge from Italy. The band needed three albums to surpass its local character and transform humble beginnings into international following, which triggered massive touring across Europe, USA, Canada, Australia and Asia, with heavyweights such as Cannibal Corpse, The Black Dahlia Murder, Devildriver, Deicide, Nile or Behemoth.

HOUR OF PENANCE has been consistent in crafting their sonic identity through a complex, crushing and surgical brand of death metal. Whilst tailored for hyper speeds and untamed brutality, the group doesn't shy away from perceptive social metaphors in their dark imaginary and lyrics.

The new album "Devotion" features long-standing members Giulio Moschini (guitars), Paolo Pieri (vocals & guitars) and Marco Mastrobuono (bass), alongside new drummer, Giacomo Torti. Recordings took place at Bloom Studio and Kick Studio in Italy, with mixing and mastering handled by Hertz Studio (Vader, Decapitated, Behemoth) in Poland.

1. Devotion for Tyranny
2. Parasitic Chain of Command
3. Birthright Abolished
4. Retaliate
5. Breathe the Dust of their Dead
6. The Morality of Warfare
7. Severance
8. The Ravenous Heralds
9. A Desert Called Peace
10. Spiralling into Decline