Releases: Pestilence - Consuming Impulse
PestilenceArtist: Pestilence
Title: Consuming Impulse
Catalog number: ARlp222_V3
Format: 12"LP (green splatter)
Genre: Progressive Death Metal
Origin: The Netherlands
Release date: 2023
Availability: Order here

Green cloudy vinyl with splatter. Released with original layout. Limited to 300 copies.

2023 re-release, remastered to significantly improve on overall audio quality. The remaster was done by Satanic Audio (Behemoth, Azarath).

?Consuming Impulse? (1989) was the beginning of all things great for PESTILENCE. Introduced into Decibel Magazine?s hall of fame in 2013, the album marked PESTILENCE?s shift from intense and raw-sounding thrash ? as seen on 1988?s ?Malleus Maleficarum? - to heavier, more haunting and then-buzzing death metal. Not only then-singer?s Martin van Drunen's (Asphyx) vocals turned to acidic growl; PESTILENCE was boosted into international recognition, being at the forefront of the scene with Death, Obituary, Sepultura, Morbid Angel, Bolt Thrower and Autopsy.

The album was recorded at Music Lab Studios in Berlin (Germany) and originally released in October 1989 with van Drunen on vocals (his second and last album with PESTILENCE), Patrick Uterwijk on guitars (he replaced Randy Meinhard shortly after the release of ?Malleus Maleficarum?), Marco Foddis on drums, and, finally, mr. PESTILENCE himself: Patrick Mameli on bass and guitars. Initially issued in CD on now closed RC Records (a sub-label of a company known today as Roadrunner Records).

?Consuming Impulse? marked the band?s progression towards pioneering Technical Death Metal music; a sub-genre, that PESTILENCE had been successful in both crafting and expanding, alongside Death, Atheist and Cynic. Widely-regarded as a ?cult classic?!

Commented by Patrick Mameli: ?This album feels like the European answer to Death's ?Leprocy?, showing of the first signs of the now typical Mameli style riffing and morbid melody lines. After a quick learning lesson, v. Drunen was able to shift from his ?Malleus? voice to the now distinctive voice he has. Thank me later.?

1. Dehydrated    
2. The Process of Suffocation
3. Suspended Animation    
4. The Trauma    
5. Chronic Infection    
6. Out of the Body    
7. Echoes of Death    
8. Deify Thy Master    
9. Proliferous Souls    
10. Reduced to Ashes