Fresh off a European tour, Dutch death metal legends PESTILENCE offer advance stream of their re-recorded best-of album, "Levels of Perception", due out April 26th on Agonia Records. The album features twelve tracks from across the band's 38-year career. The stream is available below.

Patrick Mameli - whose signature vocal, guitar and songwriting skills constitute the hallmark of PESTILENCE - finds "Levels of Perception" to be a testament to the band's role in death metal's progression. "I've always wanted to do a best-of album, because it would mean that I've achieved something in the past; something that still has its value today," Mameli reflects. "To be able to choose from songs that I composed in the distant past, transporting them into the now, with the line-up of the recordings that consisted of Michiel van der Plicht (drums), Rutger van Noordenburg (guitar) and Joost van der Graaf (bass) - I found this to be of great value and sheer awesomeness."

Re-recording of the tracks has not only managed to breathe new life into them - half thanks to new line-up, and other half by implementing subtle changes which reflect Mameli's matured vision and refined with years of experience aesthetic - but also sets them apart from cheap, unimaginative compilations, by unifying the album's sound as befits a full-length release. "The album's title is Levels of Perception. Why? Because this is what has happened with the songs," Mameli explains. "Performed by different musicians, with their own views, musical abilities and interpretations, shining a new light on them. So here we are with new Levels of Perception."

The drums for "Levels of Perception" were recorded by Michiel van der Plicht in 2021, during a live stream held in T Paard (The Hague, NL). "These recorded drum tracks were so awesome that we just had to use them, fine-tuning the guitars and bass," Mameli comments. These and other re-recordings were done with Reaper behind the console at van der Plicht's own studio On Duty in Mijdrecht, NL. The latter engineered, mixed and mastered the album. "I've started to realize, after recording Exitivm, that when you can engineer, mix and master by yourself, the control over your own product is way bigger, through the honesty and passion for your own compositions; rather than hiring an engineer that has no feel for your music," PESTILENCE's frontman wraps up.

PESTILENCE was established in the Netherlands in 1986 and is considered to be a progressive death metal phenom, labeled on the same genre-defying scale as Death, Cynic and Atheist. The group is led by founder, guitarist and mastermind Patrick Mameli, who's been the band's binding factor through two breakups and reunions. Both a reinvention and a confirmation of everything the band has been standing for since 1986, PESTILENCE is more than ever breaking new grounds and exploring the further outposts of extreme metal on "Exitivm" (2021) - the last album, which landed on several Billboard charts; most notably including Billboard 200. In 2023, the band remastered & reissued its classic catalog, and announced "Portals" to be the title of its next studio album, which is currently in the works. 

01. Horror Detox (Re-recording) 
02. Mvlti Dimensional (Re-recording)
03. Mobvs Propagationem (Re-recording)
04. Sinister (Re-recording)
05. Dehydrated (Re-recording)
06. Dominatvi Svbmissa (Re-recording)
07. Land of Tears (Re-recording)
08. Necromorph (Re-recording)
09. Deificvs (Re-recording)
10. Twisted Truth (Re-recording)
11. Sempiternvs (Re-recording)
12. Ovt of the Body (Re-recording)

Album formats:
- Jewelcase CD
- Box CD
- Black LP
- Clear LP
- Green LP
- Color in color LP
- Box LP
- MC
- Digital

- T-shirts

Upcoming shows:
25.05. SK - Surany, Songs Of Hate Festival
21.06. DE - Protzen, Protzen Open Air
22.06. BE - Dessel, Graspop
27.07. BG - Sofia, Sofia Metalfest
28.07. GR - Athens, Release Festival
10.08. CZ - Brutal Assault
26.10. NL - Sneek, Bolwerk

"Levels Of Perception" recordings musicians:
Patrick Mameli - vocals and lead guitars 
Michiel van der Plicht - drums
Rutger van Noordenburg - lead guitars
Joost van der Graaf - bass 

Pre-orders | Stream