Den Saakaldte

DEN SAAKALDTE was born in the May of 2006, under the candlelight and the light of the fifth fullmoon. The project started as a one man band, created by Sykelig. Its only purpose: to be the way for expressing paranoia, depression and alkohol influenced thoughts of the individual. DEN SAAKALDTE as a meaning, stands for every person that is not, or doesn't feel as a part of the "normal" society.

Sykelig recorded the first two songs in Hellas (Greece) and after that relocated once and for good to Norway. There, after experiencing weird situations and after having interesting new points of view in life, Sykelig joined forces with Jormungand (DHG), Seidemann (1349, Pantheon I) and Niklas Kvarforth (Shining). The drums back then were performed by the talented musician, S.Winter (ex-Aeternus, ex-Gehenna).

DEN SAAKALDTE re-recorded in Oslo & Stavanger - in actual basements - and mixed this material that was entitled "Øl, Mørke og Depresjon". It was released as a professional limited edition, by the Italian label Eerie Art Records. One month later, the band performed for the first time live, headlining the Inferno Festival (2008) in Norway, delivering a mystical, bizzare and sick setlist. The band received positive feedback from the fans and the press and the first contacts with Avantgarde Music started.

In the summer of 2008, Jarle aka Uruz took the place behind the drumkit and DEN SAAKALDTE signed with Avantgarde Music. The title of the debut album was revealed in the words of "All Hail Pessimism". A title that is rather self-sarcastic, than an actual statement.

In Autumn of 2008, the split EP "Shining/Den Saakaldte" was released by Temple Of Darkness Records. A limited to 1000 copies release, in gatefold and picture disc, with live material from both bands.

With the beginning of the year 2009, DEN SAAKALDTE was confirmed for headlining the Inferno Festival kick off and for performing at the Party San Open Air in Germany. In February, the album "All Hail Pessimism" was released by Avantgarde Music.

In the Autumn of 2009 and "Øl, Mørke og Depresjon" was re-released in the form of a digipack CD limited to 1000 copies and a gatefold double LP limited to 500 copies by Aesthetic Death Records. A high quality release from every aspect.

In the spring of 2010, shows in Finland, Germany and The Netherlands took place. Tjalve became a permanent live member and Kobro (Carpathian Forest) took over the drums.

Right after that, the band decided to take a long break from everything.

After three years of silence, DEN SAAKALDTE experienced a renewal of productive energy. The band inked a deal with Agonia Records for two albums. Tybalt (Fortid) became band's full time member and "All Hail Pessimism" was released for the first time in a double Gatefold LP; a prelude to new things coming.

After split EP releases with the Finnish Horna and with the Greek Varathron, the band focused entirely on a new full-length know as "Kapittel II:Faen I Helvete".

"Icy, old school black metal in the vein of the genre’s most infamous Norwegian practitioners" (Terrorizer Magazine).