Decline Of The I

Decline Of The I is a French post-black metal band led by a multi-instrumentalist, A - a skilled musician, who's been a part of the metal scene for over 20 years, during which he played in bands such as Vorkreist, Merrimack, Neo Inferno 262, Malhkebre and Diapsiquir. Decline Of The I is his personal approach on dark music and his spectrum of roles in the band ranges from vocalist, to guitarist, bassist, keyboardist and programmer. A is accompanied by musicians of Merrimack, Anus Mundi, Temple of Baal, Eibon and Drowning fame.

The debut album entitled "Inhibiton" was released in 2012. The album received praise from, which stated in a review: "The self’s place in society has been usurped, and that is the essence of the message in 'Inhibition', which I consider one of the best post-black metal releases of 2012" ( The band describes the album as a mix of Neurosis, Burzum and Code.

Two years later, Decline Of The I finished recording its second chapter - "Rebellion". The album features seven tracks maintained in an imaginative post-black metal environment, while the music is multifaceted and full of motion. "Mixing different kinds of dark and extreme music, 'Rebellion' is hard to be compared with any other band" - comments founder, A.

"Escape" (2018), Decline Of The I's third studio album, is the last part of the concept trilogy inspired by the works of the French surgeon and philosopher Henri Laborit (whose works included brain studies); a trilogy that started with "Inhibition" back in 2012. The lyrics and their hidden message play an important factor in the band's music, which can be described as black metal with an adventurous edge and a wide range of musical influences, varying from electronic and industrial to orchestral elements. Recorded, mixed and mastered at Blacksun Recording by Junior Rodriguez and David Fitt prepared the cover artwork.

"Johannes" is the band's fourth installment and first part of a new trilogy, based of the output of Danish philosopher, Sørena Kierkegaarda. All music and lyrics were written exclusively by AK, who recorded guitars, keyboards and some of the vocals, yet this time he's surrounded by a full line-up of SI (vocals), AD (bass) and SK (drums). Drums  were recorded at Hybreed Studios (Temple Of Baal, Ritualization, Merrimack) while rest of the instruments were recorded at a private, home-studio. The album was mixed at Drudenhaus (Alcest, Aluk Todolo, Drastus). Dehn Sora (Deathspell Omega, Blus aus Nord) crafted the cover artwork. David Fitt (Perturbator, Alcest) shot new band photos.

"Inhibition" - 2012
"Rebellion" - 2015
"Escape" - 2018
"Johannes" - 2021